Sentient State – Welcome To The Sentient State (E-Missions, EMS013)

Our Wednesday selection:
Sentient State – Welcome To The Sentient State (E-Missions, EMS013)

Brooklyn based Sentient State debuts on P. Leone’s E-Missions, while fine Irish talent Cromby comes correct with a standout remix.

As Sentient State, Aaron Seth Vaslow is an avant-garde artist who seamlessly fuses acid, electro, techno and breakbeat into slick and futuristic soundscapes that work both mind and body. He also already released on Source Material and, along with remixer Cromby, appeared on the latest Nerang Recordings VA, which landed late July.

This is an absorbing EP right from the off. ‘Welcome To The Sentient State’ is icy cold, with a metallic mix of drums and hits powering you along while majestic and frosted keys ring out into the vast open spaces above. Soothing and emotive yet also hugely dynamic, it’s a tasteful electro track of the highest order.

‘Fear Is The Mind Killer’ is just as kinetic, with a mix of rugged drum programming and warm bass, heavenly pads and urgent snares all making for a new sound that is part techno, part electro. ‘A System of Cells’ is a crisp, high speed electro track with snapping hits and far-sighted chords racing through the cosmos.

Last of all, remixer Cromby held a six year residency at the legendary Shine in Belfast, has released on Sulta Selects Silver Service, Feel My Bicep and Unknown To The Unknown and is a DJ who tours the world. His version of ‘Fear Is The Mind Killer’ a dreamy ambient track that eventually takes off on dark and tightly woven drums and bass. It’s eerie yet beautiful and hugely powerful space techno.

Tracklist: Sentient State – Welcome To The Sentient State (E-Missions, EMS013)

01. Welcome To The Sentient State
02. Fear Is The Mind Killer
03. System Of Cells
04. Fear Is The Mind Killer (Cromby Remix)

Buy release: Digital
Listen on: Spotify // YouTube

Connect with the artist:

Follow the label:

Discover more great music from E-Missions.

Leave a Reply