Sebastian Voigt – Sequential EP (E-Missions, EMS012)

Our Monday selection: Sebastian Voigt – Sequential EP (E-Missions, EMS012)

P.Leone’s E-Missions imprint drops the ’Sequential EP’ from Berlin’s Sebastian Voigt this May.

The four-track release, which sees the Renate/Else resident serve up elastic, machine funk electro and rugged techno also lands with a remix from legendary Scottish producer, Neil Landstrumm.

Voigt opens the ’Sequential EP’ with a title track that instantly leaps out due to a rhythmic, rubberised lead that woozily weaves its way through the arrangement while joined by a myriad of tension building soundscapes. ‘Polyol D9’s woody four-four kick provides a backdrop for more of the producer’s love of overlapping and effect-laden synths that unfurl steadily to create an unnerving critical mass before being tamed at, literally, the last minute. Returning to electro for the last of the originals on ’Sequential EP’, Voigt shows an altogether more musical and airy predisposition without sacrificing detail or dance floor heft.

Closing, Neil Landstrumm perverts ’Sequential’ by blending it with ‘92 UK hardcore, creating a swaggering cut that is shot through with lairy breakbeats, cacophonic stabs and the original’s modulated leads: a grade-A banger.

Tracklist: Sebastian Voigt – Sequential EP (E-Missions, EMS012)

01. Sequential
02. Polyol D9
03. Organismic
04. Sequential (Neil Landstrumm Remix)

Buy release: Vinyl // Digital
Listen on: Spotify // YouTube

Connect with the artist:
Instagram // Facebook

Find out more about the label:
Instagram // Facebook

Leave a Reply