Eyssenah – Stardust Breaker EP (Taapion, TPN010)

Pick of the weekend: Eyssenah – Stardust Breaker EP (Taapion, TPN010)

Late June marks the arrival of Taapion founders Shlømo & AWB’s new collaborative project Eyssenah as the duo unveils their debut five track EP entitled ‘Stardust Breaker’.

Founded in 2013, Parisian imprint Taapion Records has quickly become a go-to imprint for many, releasing material from the likes of François X, Bambounou, Antigone and Roman Poncet alongside core label originators Shlømo, AWB and PVNV. Following their debut live performance at Rainbow Serpent Festival under the new alias Eyssenah earlier this year, here we see Shlømo and AWB combine to reveal the project’s debut release, compiled of five tracks that span intelligent, ambient sound design through to driving, precise techno cuts.

‘Capsule’ opens the package in spellbinding fashion as the duo expertly weave together a web of rich textures, ethereal atmospherics and mesmerising soundscapes, before the dynamic ‘Dabla’ marches forth, armed with sharp hats, crisp claps and snaking synth lines to reveal a high octane, rolling groove aimed at the peak time.

On the flip, title cut ‘Stardust Breaker’ keeps the pressure high, as electro tinged lead lines and weighty kicks collide with ever evolving, raw melodies, whilst ‘Ghost Kamikaze Attack’ sees the pairing lay the focus on slick broken beat arrangements accented by warped vocal licks and hypnotic synths. To conclude, the aesthetic is once again shifted as the warping ‘Saike’ introduces off kilter glitches and wicked bass licks amongst resonant vocal shots and blissful, almost nostalgic melodies, concluding an impressive debut offering from the project and yet another stand out release under the Taapion catalogue.

Tracklist: Eyssenah – Stardust Breaker EP (Taapion, TPN010)

01. Capsule
02. Dabla
03. Stardust Breaker
04. Ghost Kamikaze Attack
05. Saike

Buy release: Vinyl

Leave a Reply