Booka Shade – Cut The Strings (Blaufield, BFMB040)

Pick of the week:
Booka Shade with Cut The Strings on Blaufield, BFMB040.

Early April will see Booka Shade deliver their ‘Cut The Strings’ LP via their own Blaufield imprint,
featuring eleven tracks and collaborations with Troels Abrahamsen, Giorgia Angiuli and Daniel Spencer.

German duo Booka Shade have long been purveyors of emotive, melodic and refined material in many forms,
their last long player ‘Galvany Street’ saw them explore new challenges outside of their comfort zone and work
with a number of singers and producers outside of the club world, such as Fritz Hilpert and a former producer for
David Bowie. Here with a fresh perspective and inspiration the duo return to the essence of their sound with ‘Cut
The Strings’, showcasing the refined production style, layered soundscapes and dance floor focused rhythms that
they’ve become loved for over the years.

Across the project the duo deliver an amalgamation of sounds from peak-time club workouts such as the breaksy
‘Tyrell’ and ‘And You?’, the menacing bass tones of ‘Black Crystal’ and hypnotic melodies of ‘Lost feat. Daniel
Spencer’ and ‘Aftermath feat. Giorgia Angiuli’ through to more home listening cuts like the Balearic tinged
‘Confessions’, the arpeggio fuelled opener ‘Easy Drifter’ and IDM touches of ‘EMS Love’. Once again with ‘Cut
The Strings’ Booka Shade have proven themselves as artists continually looking to evolve and push their sound
forward with their deft production techniques and unique approach.

Booka Shade’s ‘Cut The Strings’ LP is out on Blaufield 4th April 2018.

Tracklist: Booka Shade – Cut The Strings (Blaufield, BFMB040)

1. Easy Drifter
2. Night Surfing
3. EMS Love
4. Cut The Strings feat. Troels Abrahamsen
5. Confessions
6. Kolibri
7. And You?
8. Lost feat. Daniel Spencer
9. Black Crystal
10. Tyrell
11. Aftermath feat. Giorgia Angiuli

Buy release: Digital


Leave a Reply