W.LV.S (The Driver & Electric Rescue) – Guilty [ASTROPOLIS Records, AR14]

Our Friday selection:
W.LV.S (The Driver & Electric Rescue) – Guilty [ASTROPOLIS Records, AR14]

Activists and fervent rave militants The Driver and Electric Rescue come together for a superb new EP as W.LV.S. It lands on ASTROPOLIS Records and features vocals from Louisahhh and remixes from Cuften and Tommy Four Seven.

‘Guilty’ is the third EP for this outfit after their acclaimed ‘Misericordia EP’ soundtracked Sous Le Donjon, a 2017 documentary about Manu and Astropolis, the festival he was resident at from 1995 onwards. Manu Le Malin is a genuine legend in France who used to turn up to illegal raves with his record bag and sneak onto the decks. He has a legion of dedicated fans who revere him for his unwavering devotion to the world of hardcore and has incredibly dexterous skills in the DJ booth and a raw, visceral sound in the studio. Whenever he releases music either solo or with Electric Rescue the underground world sits up and takes note.

Their powerful opener ‘Guilty’ has a turbocharged build-up hammered with metallic and industrial echoes. A dark vocal plunges us into a post-apocalyptic universe full of tension and texture. ‘The Pit’ is another unique fusion of grooves and spoken words that features the charismatic and ghostly voice of Paris-based techno punk Louisahhh. It is a frenetic and powerful techno track haunted by her hypnotic and icy voice as she chants one of her own poems. The intensity accelerates with ‘Orca’, a powerful and razor-sharp anthem that exists in a world where galloping techno and stripped-down hardcore come together to great effect.

Esteemed British producer and international techno star Tommy Four Seven then steps up for an incisive remix of ‘Guilty’ built on heavily distorted drums and paranoid vocal loops. The digital EP also includes a remix by fast-rising young artist and new label signee Cuften. He has also released on Marc Acardipane’s Planet Phuture, and this remix of ‘Orca’ has rough analogue machines carving out a retro-electro banger.

Tracklist: W.LV.S (The Driver & Electric Rescue) – Guilty [ASTROPOLIS Records, AR14]

01. Guilty
02. The Pit (feat. Louisahhh)
03. Orca
04. Guilty (Tommy Four Seven Remix)
05. Orca (Cuften remix)

Buy release: Vinyl // Digital
Listen on: YouTube

Connect with the artist:
📷 Instagram W.LV.S (The Driver
👤 Facebook W.LV.S (The Driver

Follow the label:
📷 Instagram ASTROPOLIS Records
👤 Facebook ASTROPOLIS Records

Discover more great music from ASTROPOLIS Records.

Leave a Reply