Various Artists – 001 VA Compilation (Operandi, OPE001)

Our Tuesday selection: Various Artists – 001 VA Compilation (Operandi, OPE001)

LA artist Modus launches his brand new label Operandi with a fantastic showcase of the talent emerging in the city's warehouse scene.

LA’s exciting underground scene is really booming right now with stellar parties being thrown by promoters all over the city inviting top notch talent from all over the world. Operandi is at the forefront of this strong resurgence in the underground scene with founder Modus seeking to capture this unique energy that fosters new, emerging local talent within the darker, harder, and faster realms of the genre through his regular parties and releases on the newly launched label.

First up is Brazil-born, Germany based Chromium Music boss Allan Feytor with 'Nocturnal', a dark, hard hitting banger that blows away the cobwebs and has plenty of manic synth patterns to tie your mind in knots. Stephen Disario then steps up with 'Loss of Self', which sinks you into a smooth, train-track like groove with icy hi hats peeling off the hammering kicks as cosmic pads swirl round up top. Vince Weyn contributes 'In Die Nacht' which is a peak time tune with cosmic energy and plenty of frazzled synths, freaky voices and terror filled stabs that are brilliantly dystopian.

Next up is the boss himself. Modus has climbed high in the Beatport charts before now with tunes on labels like Understated Records as well as being a key techno catalyst in his local scene. His offering is a searing techno track with cantering kicks that sweep you off your feet as industrial fx and bright chords bring real drama. Error keeps the pressure on with his hugely heavyweight and shadowy 'Beyond Consciousness' which burrows ever deeper underground with spooky, paranoid synth drones. Amnesiac Host's 'ifconfig' is another one to trap you in a state of bleak techno hypnosis thanks to the sustained pads and unresolved drum loops that layer up the tension. Last of all, Nate Lowpass & Elijah drill down into bass heavy techno with 'In The Bag', which prowls urban wastelands with real menace.

Various Artists ‘001 VA Compilation’ drops on Operandi on 27th March 2020.

Tracklist: Various Artists – 001 VA Compilation (Operandi, OPE001)

01. Allan Feytor – Nocturnal
02. Stephen Disario – Loss of Self
03. vince weyn – In Die Nacht
04. Modus – Drum Machine Love
05. ERROR – Beyond Consciousness
06. Amnesiac Host – ifconfig
07. Nate Lowpass, Elijah – In The Bag

Buy release: Digital

Leave a Reply