Hybrasil – We Don’t Flip (Rekids, REKIDS160)

Our Friday selection:
Hybrasil – We Don’t Flip (Rekids, REKIDS160)

Berlin-based Irish artist Hybrasil returns to Rekids with four murky techno cuts in ‘We Don’t Flip’.

Having made numerous appearances on Rekids including ‘Embers’, his debut album released last year, Hybrasil has become a core artist on Matt Edwards’s label when not releasing on his very own eponymous imprint. Reflecting on an amazingly creative 2019, at the start of this year Hybrasil set a new creative path for his future live shows, writing new music that received regular support from Radio Slave, which is what ultimately shaped this new four-track release.

‘We Don’t Flip’ opens the package with an immediate shadowy aesthetic before rattling kicks, off-beat hats and snappy snares lay down the groove as distorted vocal murmurs join delayed synths. ‘Hour Glass’ is next with its syncopated rhythm and quivering pads before ‘Ikigai’ takes things into wonkier territories courtesy of subtle melodies, metallic atmospherics and dubby chords. Tying everything together, ‘System H’ takes things up a notch, adding extra oomph to the package using powerful drums, rippling bass and deep stabs.

Tracklist: Hybrasil – We Don’t Flip (Rekids, REKIDS160)

A1. We Don’t Flip
A2. Hour Glass
B1. Ikigai
B2. System H

Buy release: Digital
Listen on: Spotify // YouTube

Connect with the artist:

Follow the label:

Find out more about Hybrasil here
and discover more great music from Rekids as well.

Leave a Reply