Frankie Bones – Call It Techno EP (Intec Digital, ID140)

Pick of the week:
Frankie Bones with Call It Techno EP on Intec Digital, ID140.


Presse release:
The new Intec release is from Frank Mitchell aka Frankie Bones who is an American based DJ and producer whose played a large role in New York’s Techno scene. Having been involved in music since the mid 80’s, Frankie Bones was one of the first DJ’s from New York’s Brooklyn region to gain global success.

By the late 80’s Frankie Bones was getting regular European bookings following the success of his Bonesbreaks EP series, which released on Underworld Records received global recognition and critical acclaim.
During his three decade spanning career Frankie Bones has even released an EP on the iconic Trax Records, which released many of the early records that defined the House and Techno genre.

One of his most popular releases was his 1989 release titled “Call It Techno” which originally came out on Breaking Bones Records, and a firm Carl Cox favourite has now been remastered and rereleased for this special Intec package, which also features one of his new and previously unreleased tracks.

Also featuring on the release are two new remix versions provided by Carlo Lio and Raito who each put their individual stamp on things.
Carlo Lio is an artist who in between global DJ bookings, has released music on labels including Octopus, SCI+TEC, Turbo, Mood, and Saved Records.

French artist Raito is fast rising through the ranks following regular releases Boysnoize Records, along with having also featured on Mako, Origami Sound, Main Course and BNR TRAX.

“Call It Techno” has a timeless bass line taken straight from the glory days of Acid House. Filled with retro charm and warehouse party vibes, the vocal tells the story of Techno’s history, and the pads plus melody are rich in analogue joy.

Carlo Lio’s remix of “Call It Techno” uses choice snippets of the originals vocal to refine the story it into a powerful chant. This remix is fast and furious with added tension and suspense. Carlo adds his own toughened backing track that’s filled with dark atmosphere plus an explosive drop after the main break.

Tracklist: Frankie Bones – Call It Techno EP (Intec Digital, ID140)

01. Call It Techno 2017
02. Call It Techno (Carlo Lio Remix)
03. Call It Techno (Raito Remix)
04. Light It Up
05. Light It Up (Instrumental)

Buy release: Digital


Leave a Reply