Dez Williams – THE (VANTA SERIES, VANTA001)

Itsoundsfuture went to the last Boiler Room Berlin at Arena Club, where we heard Dez Williams. Of course we want to review this latest material, and we were lucky, because the new sublabel of Killekill named VANTA SERIES just launches off with his new EP – THE.

So who is the guy? – “Holy Island, an island off of the coast of North Wales is where Dez Williams begun spinning wax at an early age and now maintains his humble analogue / digital studio. Isolated from the marketing, fashion and pretentious attitudes that plague the music industry, Dez is free to express himself through his machines. Safe from this environment he is unconstrained and has no urge to conform with any ideal or aesthetic and thus his electronic music is pure self expression.

A window into his soul. His sound is perhaps a product of his daily grind with boredom, escapism, events in his life and a long term passion for technology, horror and science fiction. Inspired by many of the classic Chicago / Detroit / electro / techno producers, like the finest, his sound is unique, uncompromising and unpredictable. His vision of techno is deep and futuristic with a heavy dose of funk.

Dez’s passion for sound and the darker side of the human spirit compels him to create tracks on an almost daily basis and he sits on an incredibly vast archive of cassettes, mini-discs and CD’s of his work. Yet his reclusive nature dictates that his release schedule remains sparse. His tracks can range from driving techno, to melancholy and dark synthesizer orchestrations, ghostly deep listening, straight up electro cuts and beyond. Sometimes simple, sometimes complex, within his sounds are vast amounts of detail for the listener to decipher. Emotions transmitted through mathematics and code. Williams’ tracks have found their way into the sets of DJ’s like Dave Clarke, Adam X, John Peel, Ellen Allien, Mike Dred and Rob Hall.

He has constantly retained an underground / cult fanbase. His debut LP ‘Elektronik Religion’ for the SCSI label was hailed as “One of the very few truly great electro albums of the new century”. Dez remains true to the underground and simply creates for the love and need to do so. The mark of a true artist. He continues to DJ and play live sets across the world and has had releases on a variety of labels including Acruacreee, Ai, Cheap, SCSI-AV, Blase, Voodoo, Minimal Soul & Earwiggle…”

Time for the weekend, time for some Acid!

Tracklist:Dez Williams – THE (VANTA SERIES, VANTA 001)

01. Acidbanger
02. Hornet Tea
03. Offonone

01. Acidbanger
Minimal offbeat uprising acid arp, slowly modulated over time, is banging your mind.
Hard distorted stabs complete the scene, nothing else needed for the madness.


02. Hornet Tea
Spaced out acid techno. The Mad Hatter loves it.


03. Offonone
Spaced out acid techno part II. Again minimal. Again elegant.

Conclusion: A brilliant reduction to the essentials. Minimal, though powerful.

Buy release: Vinyl // Digital


Leave a Reply