Aetos & Phryxus – All The Time EP (WiN Recordings, WIN009)

Our Wednesday selection:
Aetos & Phryxus – All The Time EP (WiN Recordings, WIN009)

WiN Recordings hit release number nine in bold fashion with three new originals from Aetos & Phryxus and remixes from Ego Stroke and My Evil Twiin, which is two aliases of the same Glaswegian artist.

The label is building up a fine head of steam having returned from a seven year hiatus with a thrilling selection of sounds, and this continues with the mysterious pairing of Aetos & Phryxus.

They kick off with ‘All The Time’, a dark and heavy techno track that chugs away with purpose. The bouncy drums and airy hi hats get you on your toes as a gritty chord vamp brings the ruckus. First to remix is Ego Stroke, a Scottish producer and Bulletdodge Records A&R who uses this moniker for his house sounds. His remix is a more soulful tune with brighter chords bringing the warmth and a uplifting vocal bringing some glistening emotion as the acid synths and pads swirl around.

The powerful ‘When The Clock Stops’ is built on loopy broken beats with circling pads and a freaky vocal sound all adding up to a hypnotic and intriguing number that packs a real punch. Then comes a remix from My Evil Twiin, the techno alias of Ego Stroke, which ups the layers of laser-like synth which shoot over the face of the tune as whip-snapping hits add bite and drive.

Closing out this fine EP is ‘Turtle Drop’, another pulsating and dubbed out cut with haunting pads and a mystic lead that pulls you deep into this most cavernous and atmospheric of grooves.

Tracklist: Aetos & Phryxus – All The Time EP (WiN Recordings, WIN009)

01. All The Time
02. All The Time (Ego Stroke Remix)
03. When The Clock Stops
04. When The Clock Stops (My Evil Twiin Remix)
05. Turtle Drop

Buy release: Digital
Listen on: YouTube

Follow the label:
? Facebook

Leave a Reply