LPZ, Rush Plus – RPDC003 (Rush Plus DC, RPDC003)

Pick of the week:
LPZ, Rush Plus with RPDC003 on Rush Plus DC, RPDC003.

Press release:
Washington DC duo Rush Plus prepare the third outing on their eponymous Techno imprint in a split four track release featuring Paraguay trio LPZ.

Real names Jackson Ryland and Justin Nouhra, the burgeoning producers have been flying the flag for Washington’s electronic music scene for quite some time but it was only a year ago that they launched their Rush Plus artist and label project. However, in such a short time the first two releases have gained support from the upper echelons of Techno, with names such as Rodhad, Ben Klock, DJ Spider, Ben Sims, Slam, Answer Code Request, Dasha Rush, DJ Deep, and many more getting behind the talented pair.

Likewise, Latin America’s LPZ – aka Cosmo Lopez, P Lopez and Octavio – are doing the same thing for their native home of Asunción, Paraguay. The collective has gone global, appearing in London, Hong Kong, New York, Hanoi and Barcelona, not to mention performing a live set in Berlin clubbing mecca Berghain. When not appearing on labels like Voight, the group have been releasing on their own self-titled label that’s also featured South American talents like Gonzalo MD and Alex AQ.

LPZ handle the record’s A-side, inaugurating matters with ‘Snooze’; a raw and physical workout that blends metallic percussion and a cavernous low-end whilst trippy elements ebb in and out of the mix. Robust kicks and intricate melodies then form ‘Temp 8’ as dusky atmospherics contribute to an overall menacing aesthetic. On the flip, label founders Rush Plus serve up a percussive number titled ‘Double Life’ filled with breaks and stuttering synths until the twisted and rumbling ‘Working’ concludes matters with warped notes and echoing effects.

Tracklist: LPZ, Rush Plus – RPDC003 (Rush Plus DC, RPDC003)

01. LPZ – Snooze
02. LPZ – Temp8
03. Rush Plus – Double Life
04. Rush Plus – Working

Buy release: Vinyl

Listen here.

Leave a Reply