KSMISK – Mikrometeorittene LP (PLOINK, PL022NK)

Pick of the weekend:
KSMISK with Mikrometeorittene LP on PLOINK, PL022NK.

Scandinavian duo KSMISK return to Norwegian techno imprint PLOINK to drop their debut album this
Real names Truls Kvam and Robin Crafoord, KSMISK made a name for themselves as Trulz & Robin with releases on Planet Noise and Cymasonic, not to mention Prins Thomas’ Full Pupp and Rett I Fletta. Since launching their KSMISK project in 2015 the pair have returned to some of these labels whilst also dropping two releases on renowned Bergen-based techno label PLOINK, of which 2017’s ‘Magma EP’ is the precursor to their inaugural album ‘Mikrometeorittene’.
Opening the package is the ominous and beatless ‘Lonsdaleite’, setting the tone for an otherworldly aesthetic throughout. Off-kilter kicks then rain down in ‘Silicate’ as sinister drones ebb in and out of the mix before meandering back into a ghostly ambient cut named ‘Vesta’. Crunchy percussion and tantalising atmospherics then make up ‘Blitz’, moving into the twisted and syncopated ‘Marinate’ until the raw sounding ‘Spherules’ exhibits a compelling groove combined with echoing effects. The dusky ‘Wustite’ sees the album retreat from 4/4 once again, returning for the effervescent ‘Westergas’ before concluding on a melancholic outro entitled ‘Chondrites’.
For this release 2×12” LP PLOINK will release 100 numbered and limited grey vinyl as well as the usual black vinyl.
KSMISK ‘Mikrometeorittene LP’ drops on PLOINK on 23rd February 2018.

Tracklist: KSMISK – Mikrometeorittene LP (PLOINK, PL022NK)

01. Lonsdaleite
02. Silicate
03. Vesta
04. Blitz
05. Marinate
06. Spherules
07. Wustite
08. Westergas
09. Chondrites
10. The Journey – Bonus (Full Album Continous Mix)

Buy release: Vinyl // Digital


Leave a Reply