Tim Taylor & DJ Slip – Pleasure Unit (Dame-Music, DAME-039)

Pick of the weekend: Tim Taylor & DJ Slip – Pleasure Unit (Dame-Music, DAME-039)

Tim Taylor & DJ Slip make their Dame-Music debut this July with ‘Pleasure Unit’, featuring two fresh remixes from label boss Bloody Mary alongside a further remix from Jerome Hill.

Originally released in 1998, the story behind this release dates back over two decades to Minneapolis in 1997 where Tim Taylor spent the year building a mobile studio and collaborating with local modular system freaks Freddie Fresh, DJ ESP, DJ Slip and Rob Williams. Following a series of live jams across various exotic analogue systems and rare gear recorded to DAT with live mixing, these sketches and recordings were originally planned as a limited alternate series to Taylor’s label, Missile, with a plan to release the tracks and experiments under the name ‘Fear of Music’ as the collective aimed to try something beyond what a regular DJ and club focused label could put out.

Fear of Music 01 ‘Pleasure Unit’ from Taylor and DJ Slip is the result one of these collaborations, and whilst originally released as a 90’s analogue adventure, it was always intended that both artists would return to work on the tracks and project at a later date. That date has now arrived as 21 years later Dame-Music proudly present the original track freshly remastered by Thomas P. Heckmann at Trope Mastering, plus fresh remixes from imprint founder Bloody Mary who delivers two up-front, warping and hypnotic interpretations alongside Super Rhythm Trax boss Jerome Hill who joins her in remixing the 90’s cut this July.

Tracklist: Tim Taylor & DJ Slip – Pleasure Unit (Dame-Music, DAME-039)

01. Pleasure Unit (Original Mix)
02. Pleasure Unit (Jerome Hill Remix)
03. Pleasure Unit (Bloody Mary Remix)
04. Pleasure Unit (Bloody Mary Drum Workout)

Buy release: Digital // Vinyl

Leave a Reply