Cleric x Setaoc Mass – Isolate EP (CRG010, Clergy)

Pick of the week:
Cleric x Setaoc Mass with Isolate EP on CRG010, Clergy.

The tenth instalment of Clergy sees host to the second collaborative project between lifelong friends Jorden Hodgetts and Sam Coates (Cleric and Setaoc Mass) split over two discs. The first disc presents three driving rhythmic orientated tools, ‘Odyssey’, ‘Isolation’ and ‘Centre of the Cyclone’, which are sculpted flawlessly for the dance-floor. You can see a continuous theme surrounding the release, the exploration of escapism is perfectly introduced by a foreboding message courtesy of John C. Lily: “Be in the present…”

The second disc progresses as a means to go on, with the sonic emphasis moving more towards tone and melody. The sweeping pads of ‘Madame Butterfly’ and the sinister strings of ‘subconscious life’ give the songs a feeling of satisfying unease, while the electro-twinged melody of ‘188’ evokes emotion from start to finish. Last on the EP is ‘Exploration X’, a bleepy ambient voyage which beautifully rounds off the record. CRG010 will also end the second series of releases on Clergy, starting a new look and bringing in a new photographer for the next series.

Tracklist: Cleric x Setaoc Mass – Isolate EP (CRG010, Clergy)

A1 / 1. Altered States ft. John C. Lilly
A2 / 2. Odyssey
B1 / 3. Isolation
B2 / 4. Centre Of The Cyclone
C1 / 5. Madame Butterfly
C2 / 6. 188
D1 / 7. Subconcious Life
D2 / 8. Exploration X

Buy release: Vinyl // Digital

Leave a Reply